NSW Bushfires

20131017-212025.jpgI just needed to show you the massive devastation that N.S.W, my home state but most importantly my little part of the Central Coast community, is suffering from unbelievable bush fires right at this moment. The ‘right here’ marked on the map is my last place of residence before packing up everything and leaving for Europe.

Many emotions are battling it out.

I’m so worried for those I know who have come close to losing everything, to being trapped inside their homes with all exits blocked, to be separated from those they care about, for those I don’t know and who are scared or fearful of friends & relatives just like me.

I’m sad, for those who have lost homes, possessions from the looting taking place in evacuated areas, loved ones, pets & livestock.

20131017-215102.jpgI’m shocked, so much of our state is burning, with lots of it ‘out of control’ still 1 month out from National Bush Fire season! 112 fires in my home state are burning. The most devastating, at this second, the one in my home area. Where local schools, pubs, national parks & petrol stations have gone up in flames.

ONE HUNDRED AND TWELVE

I’m overwhelmed with pride. So proud of all the Volunteer & paid fire fighters who battle long, no break, hours to fight for our homes & loved ones to be safe. I’m proud that communities activate a modern day ‘phone tree‘, thanks to Facebook, without which I would have little to NO idea what was happening. I’m proud we will all come together to raise money, awareness & rebuild that which has been lost.

20131017-215309.jpg

All my loved ones are safe & well. But I will most likely know someone who has been affected or they will know someone who has.
There have been no reported deaths and no official report has been released on how much has been destroyed. But it is only the early hours of the morning in Australia & they no doubt will be waking to what will most likely resemble a war zone of some sort… My thoughts are with them. Xo

About mapofjo

I'm a late twenties opinionated nerd who likes to share my wisdom & experiences with like minded people. I've studied, worked & travelled lots. I'm an open book with nothing to hide, other than my secretly embarrassing celeb crushes....

5 comments

  1. My thoughts are with you and your friends, this looks so scary. I hope your friends stay safe.

  2. Kerry Spicer

    Hi Jodi this is the part of being on the other side of the world that must tug at your heart strings. Absolutely love each & everyone of your posts & with excitement check my emails daily to hear of your latest adventures. Lots of love to both you & Tim. Love Aunty Kerry & Barry xx

  3. Hayley Rook

    Well said Jo xo

  4. Wow, that is close to the fire. Terrible times. Again. Just crazy.

Leave a Reply

