Preparing the small things for travel

20130729-220322.jpg

As I’m going to be living out of a suitcase, for what could be 3-5 months, I’ve prepared a couple tricks to bring more variety into my wardrobe without compromising on my luggage allowance….

Today’s trick has taken the longest to actually see to fruition. Seems perfume atomisers aren’t as popular as they once were. I remember seeing them EVERYWHERE as a kid and a teenager but right when I need them most they are no-where to be seen.

I’m the type of person who likes a signature scent when on vacation so that smell always reminds me of that time. 3-5 months is a long time to smell the same, so this trip will be different, I’m taking a variety of favourites!

Glass perfume jars can be heavy, weirdly shaped & end up smashing and ruining the contents of your bag. I’ve been scouring for the aluminium atomisers in stores, only to find them hold 5mls and cost AU$20! No thanks! Not when I am planning on taking at least four.

SOLUTION: plastic spray bottles with plastic caps to avoid leakage.
I found 4 bottles that were priced between AU$2.50-$4 each & filled them with my 4 fav fragrances suitable for any occasion! I checked with the suppliers and they assured me the plastic used in these bottle are the same that house chemicals and methylated spirits so the perfume won’t eat through the bottles. Also that they were pretty confident the plastic shouldn’t alter the scent of my perfumes. I will also save so much on my baggage weight allowance thanks to no bulky bottles of glass. โค that I don't have to compromise my way finishing off an outfit by only packing one bottle!

Now if you really need to, label them with a marker, for identification. I chose not to as I didn't have a marker and luckily they are all varied in colour so I can differentiate them that way. But if I change my mind I am going to use nail polish on the lid to identify.

A little tip – wear a glove & fill them in a well ventilated area. As even though you are only pouring (or spraying in some cases) into another closed in bottle, the smell is potent and mixed eventually, causing many headaches and unhappy housemates!

About mapofjo

I'm a late twenties opinionated nerd who likes to share my wisdom & experiences with like minded people. I've studied, worked & travelled lots. I'm an open book with nothing to hide, other than my secretly embarrassing celeb crushes....

Leave a Reply

