GARAGE SALE

20130708-181553.jpg

So our ‘EVERYTHING MUST GO’ garage sale was over the weekend….
Everyone is ready to tell you how they work on the day, one thing I noticed, no one tells you the prep work you need to lay down to make it successful.

Luckily I am a well organised person and I had been slowly preparing for a couple of weeks. Unfortunately, my partner (the muscles) had been unwell the entire time, leaving me to do almost everything!

Needless to say, I am so glad it’s over with, it’s all downhill from here really!

Almost everything we were warned would occur on the big day DIDN’T happen.
It was a gorgeous day and our prices were very fair. We had posted signs all around local areas the day before to get a buzz going and slammed both our fb pages with annoying posts for weeks.

People aren’t willing to discuss much with you relating to what they would like to pay or what they are looking for (sadly). They do a lap without touching anything and leave.

The best thing I have learned from having a huge garage sale…..?

Post it all online on Facebook local op shop page/ groups!
This has worked much better for me and it means I can go about my daily business without compromising potential sales. πŸ™‚

A true positive is that 2 local op shops are very lucky with the loads I have given to them!

Many other good things to come of it are;
* my house is now clutter free
* we have several hundred $ in our travel fund now
* I have learned some valuable lessons for next time. πŸ™‚

Next hurdle…. The big move from our lil love nest!

About mapofjo

I'm a late twenties opinionated nerd who likes to share my wisdom & experiences with like minded people. I've studied, worked & travelled lots. I'm an open book with nothing to hide, other than my secretly embarrassing celeb crushes....

Leave a Reply

